Buried Alive

I forget the exact steps that bore away the pain –

but I remember that I climbed up from a shallow grave…

For there my heart had buried what it could no more contain,

For there my heart had hidden deep the things I feared to name…

I closed my eyes and so I died to feeling it again…

 

But I with trembling, grasping hands broke free of grave and ground,

To find that I was lost enough to see what I had found –

That I had slept – but not in death – for I could hear the sound,

Of the heartbeat in my breast that these tears couldn’t drown –

Of the tattered remnants of a hope I had laid down…

 

I do not say that I am whole for that would be a lie,

But I have resurrected what I thought forever died –

For my own hands had carved the grave I carried deep inside…

And in it I lay down those things from which I sought to hide…

But it did not just take away the pain – it took my life –

 

The choice to now live again, is mine to decide.

grass-1913167_1920

Leave a comment