The Lady and Her Lord

When the wind calls deeply, sweetly, my love,

I shall hearken with gladness and sigh

No more shall I shiver alone in long winter,

No more shall I wither inside.

 

For my dear love now hastens his footsteps to home,

His hearth I have kept swept prepared

Throughout journey unnumbered my heat has not slumbered,

Such sweet torture no more can I bear.

 

I have dreamed of his lips as they kiss my soft flesh,

I confess I am wearied and weak

To but feast on his eyes as they gaze into mine

Oh my lord, hurry home to your keep!

 

And so wind whispers softly I come for you surely,

Fair lady for whom my heart quickens,

Far too long spent away yet my love does not fade

Only you make my blood rise and thicken.

 

When the wind calls deeply, sweetly, my love

As my head rests on earth far from home,

I do dream of your kisses, to embrace you and whisper

That this is the last time I roam.

 

We shall dance and shall sing as we step as those dreaming

Neath daylight that gleams bright and true,

Our souls intertwined for now and all time

My heart beating, only breathing, for you

Leave a comment